Nuno Felted Cobweb Scarf in Ocean Colors

IMG_0377

This is my nuno felted ‘sample’ neck warmer.  I have decided when I try something new that I will make a sample piece before I go large.  It doesn’t look like it, but this is a cobweb scarf with some bits of chiffon in matching colors.  Also, it is actually turquoise and not blue.  I used merino wool, sari silk and viscose fibers, wool locks and mulberry silk laps.  I was going for an ocean feel.

There is a video by Living Felt on YouTube showing how to make a cobweb scarf.  I also have a book where this technique is mentioned.  It is quite unusual as instead of laying out the wool in the usual fashion where the layers cross each other, the roving is pulled off to the length required and then spread out to the side so all the fibers are going in the same direction in one piece.  By stretching the roving out sideways, you will end up with holes as it makes a type of trellis effect.  It is best to make it as thin as possible.  In this instance, I pulled off a 4 foot section which shrank down to about 3 feet.  I  added silk and viscose fibers with silk laps on top.  There were a few holes to start with, but they mostly disappeared during the last bit of the fulling process.  Instead, I have a sturdy, but very thin scarf with a lacy effect.  If you hold it up to the light, you can see through it in most places.

IMG_0379

There is a lot of texture in this scarf.  I had purchased a synthetic chiffon scarf from the charity shop.  Unfortunately, it has gotten buried in the wool.  If you look really close you can see it.  All I need to do now is make a brooch for this scarf.  Although the process is quite delicate to start with, I went ahead to make a larger one starting at just over 6 feet.  It’s in the dryer and will be ready to show soon.